Call us today at 201-996-0056 for a free consultation with an attorney with more than 29 years of experience.

Suspended & Revoked Licenses

• We appear in all courts in New Jersey and in most of NY state

Whether you have been pulled over and are aware of your license being suspended and tell that to the police officer or if you claim that you were unaware of your placement on the suspension list, we can create a defense for such a case.

Do not just give up your rights! Let us review your case to determine if the DMV properly notified you of the suspension. (We have all made fun of the DMV. Do you really think they don’t make mistakes? Well they make plenty) There are defenses to this offense that an attorney like us who customarily defend these tickets is often able to use to allow you to keep driving, avoid jail and reduce the fines and surcharges.

PENALTIES
Penalties for Driving While Suspended (If you are convicted/guilty) The penalties for a first offence is a fine in the amount of $500 and a suspension of driving privileges for up to 6 months. In addition to that the defendant is charged a surcharge of $250/year for 3 years in every Driving While Suspended Conviction by the DMV. A second offence holds a fine of $750 and jail time for up to 5 days and a suspension of driving privileges for up to 6 months! A 3rd offence means a $1000 fine plus jail time for 10 days and a suspension of driving privileges for up to 6 months. If the vehicle was in violation and involved in an accident resulting in personal injury, jail time will be at least 45 days.

If an individual violates this section while under suspension issued pursuant to 39:4-50, driving while under the influence of liquor or drugs and is convicted, they shall be fined $500.00 extra and have their license suspended for an additional period not less than one year nor more than two years and may be in the county jail for not more than 90 days. The defendant will also be surcharged a mandatory $250.00 per year for 3 years.

Although most municipal court hearings are considered minor by many citizens it is obvious from the possible penalties involved that this is a serious offense carrying the possibility of both stiff fines and incarceration.

There are two types of license suspension:
1. Court imposed suspension
2. Administrative / Division of Motor Vehicles suspension

The most common type is when the driver fails to pay a surcharge or accumulated points has been placed on a suspended list maintained by the New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicles (Division of Motor Vehicles). This makes it illegal for the person to drive a vehicle for a prescribed period of time in this New Jersey.


Reviews

No Reviews yet.


Add a Review